Tarab

Michel Cavalca
Régis Golay / Federal Studio
Performance for 10 dancers | Creation 2013 | Duration 55’

A gigantic spinal column blows like grass in the wind, fanning the dancers across the stage. We gaze upon the heart of Tarab, this ductile calligraphy, alive and spreading in the background, now unfolding into two continuous, rhythmic lines of lingering, magnetic agitation. What follows is an uninterrupted choreographic phrase in continual metamorphosis. It avoids accented beats, favoring the transitions between fluid patterns and forms with a certain mysterious quality. In the wake of the sextet Nil (Swiss Dance and Choreography Award 2011) and its effervescent undulation of flowing bodies, Tarab unveils ten dancers in striking combinations. It calls to mind the DNA of our shared humanity as much as the cultural jigsaw puzzle unfurling in the hybrid choreographic grammar of Laurence Yadi and Nicolas Cantillon.

The Oriental-inspired dance with undulating pelvic movements encountered in this piece engages a delicate balancing act with the classic groove across the dance floor, marvelously slowed down and out of sync. The choreographers combine hip movements found in the soul dancing of B-Series, funk, R&B and rock, with lines of liquid, graphic arms. Unbound hands move in a continuous cascade of fluttering fingers, an element which the former masters of tap-dancing and acrobatic dance, the Nicholas Brothers, turned to their choreographic advantage. This is reminiscent of Henri Michaux’s asemic writing, those fleeting figures of evanescent beauty, peculiar and distorted.

In the multiple layers of changing positions, of bodies spinning and coiling slowly upon themselves as if following the drift of a languid flamenco, the piece avoids dramatizing movement. It traces without pause a continuous line of anatomical curves. This hypnotic and limpid line, at once fleshy and ethereal, generates a flow whose source emanates from the young dancers. Transmission is the silt of the work undertaken. We watch these bodies moving again and again in a state at times volatile and diffuse, forming a shifting semi-circle of community which envelopes the soloist, depicting a landscape, an emotion and other often inexpressible sensations. In this respect, Tarab is perhaps the most accurate fulfillment of the vow formulated as far back as Climax (2006)—an orderly progression without rhythmic changes moving towards an always deferred orgasmic plateau. In other words, the infinite renewal of the question of what dance should consist of. The piece gives the audience the liberty to contemplate and to question; we find in these endless spiral movements a nourishment both appeasing and staggering.

True to the festive side of soufi-groovyTarab bathes in an atmosphere of vibrating strings which resound in echoes, brought to us by the prodigious jazz and world music guitarist Jacques Mantica. This enveloping sound matrix is sustained by the meandering, muffled tread of layers of bass. We are at the source of “tarab”, a musical emotion evoking an instrumental and expressive chant, like an evocative poem, or a palette of feelings gravitating from a deep interiority to an intense exaltation, a reflection of life in the streets of Cairo. Hence this distant recollection of the melodic and traditional form of quarter tone called maqam which stresses the tie between two movements.

Tarab approaches the realm of trance with the disarming innocence of an adolescent, reaping wholeheartedly the states that it attempts to render simultaneously—rapture and melancholy, concentration and letting go. The choreography takes a musical turn, tuned to the fluctuating strata of low, deep strings which create an echo chamber for the solitude of a gently undulating strand of algae, carried along by the languid twists and turns of its course. This moment of deepening twilight confirms the appeal of Tarab for the intermediary, for that which lies between, and resonates like a promise held by awakened senses, the enticing savor of an encounter to be continued.

Bertrand Tappolet

Translation : Steven Hanebutt

Choreography, Concept
Laurence Yadi, Nicolas Cantillon

Cast
Luc Bénard, Rosanne Briens, Nicolas Cantillon, Ryan Djojokarso, Karima El Amrani, Victoria Hoyland, Aline Lopes, Margaux Monetti, Melissa Ugolini, Laurence Yadi

Artistic collaboration
Sir Richard Bishop, Nicolas Field, Graziella Jouan

Mix, Recording, Music
Jacques Mantica

Light design
Patrick Riou

Technical manager
Arnaud Viala

Documentary filmmaker , Video recording
Donkeyshot Filmproduction: Ahmed Abdel Mohsen and Sandra Gisy

Costumes
Olga Kondrachina

Communication, Graphisme
Yona Lee Design studio, Régis Golay | Federal Studio

Production
Compagnie 7273

Coproductions
A cooperative project between the Association pour la Danse Contemporaine (ADC Geneva), the Arsenic (Lausanne), the Gessnerallee (Zurich), Südpol (Lucerne), as part of the curators fund Reso - Swiss Dance Network.

Support 
Compagnie 7273 benefits from a joint support from Ville de Genève, République et canton de Genève and Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council. Compagnie 7273 is also supported by Loterie Romande, Göhner Stiftung, Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung, Corymbo, Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung and Fondation Nestlé pour l'Art for research in the field of multi styles FuittFuitt.

Touring grant
Compagnie 7273 has received a touring grant from Corodis and Pour-cent culturel Migros in 2013 and 2014. In 2014 - 2015, she has received a grant from Corodis and Loterie Romande.

Studio for rehearsal and creation residency
Compagnie 7273 received a residence of research at Pro Helvetia Cairo and a provision of studios from the ADC, Geneva and CND - Centre National de la Danse, France

Special thanks to
Amir Rasty et filles, Muriel Décaillet, Patrick Eberhardt, Ahmed El Attar-studio Emad Eddin, Ahmed El Maghrabi (Makan, Cairo), Clemence Egron-Reverseau, Sébastien Favez, Filippo Filliger, Myriam Kridi, Maysoon Mahfoudh (Pro Helvetia Cairo), Françoise Mamie, Karima Mansour (Cairo Opera), Mohamed Marco, Nahla Mattar (Oum Kalsoum Museum, Cairo), Hebba Shérif (Pro Hevetia Cairo), Nicole Simon-Vermot, Dorothée Thébert, Sandra Vinciguerra, Service Cantonal de la Culture de Genève for the residence in Genthod and Département de la Culture et du sport de la Ville de Genève for the accommodation at Halles de l’Île.

Agenda

Tarab

Pièce pour 10 danseurs | Création 2013 | Durée 55’

Une colonne vertébrale géante s’agite comme herbes au vent articulant en éventail les danseurs. Contemplez au cœur de Tarab, cette ductile calligraphie du vivant étagée au lointain, qui maintenant se dédouble en deux lignes continues de rythmes jouant de l’agitation lente, magnétique. Dès lors infuse une phrase chorégraphique ininterrompue en constante métamorphose. Elle fuit le temps accentué, pour privilégier les transitions entre les motifs fluides, aux formes empreintes de mystère. Dans le sillage renouvelé du sextuor Nil (Prix suisse de la danse et de la chorégraphie 2011) et son ondulation mousseuse de corps flottants, Tarab dévoile un saisissant couplage de dix corps. Il évoque autant l’ADN de notre humanité commune que le puzzle culturel se déployant dans la grammaire chorégraphique métissée ciselée par Laurence Yadi et Nicolas Cantillon.

Dans le feuilleté des changements d’orientations des corps tournoyant et s’enroulant lentement sur eux-mêmes comme au fil d’un flamenco alangui, la création s’écarte de toute dramatisation du mouvement dansé. Sans butée ou pause, s’épelle une ligne continue de volutes anatomiques. Hypnotique et limpide, cette ligne à la fois charnue et éthérée génère un flux, dont les sources d’émissions sont également réparties entre de juvéniles interprètes, la transmission étant ici le limon du travail mené en commun. Il suffit de regarder encore et encore ces corps à l’état parfois volatil, diffus, dessinant un demi-cercle mouvant d’écoute communautaire bordant la soliste, S’y dépeignent un paysage, une émotion et bien d’autres sensations parfois indicibles. En cela, Tarab est peut-être aussi la plus fidèle réalisation au vœu formulé dès Climax (2006) – progression distanciée sans changement de rythmes vers un plateau orgasmique toujours repoussé. Soit cet infini recommencement du regard en quoi devrait consister la danse. Ce qui se donne à voir favorise ainsi une grande mobilité du regard chez le spectateur, trouvant dans ses mouvements spiralés sans fin, une nourriture d’apaisement et de sidération mêlées.

Fidèle à sa dimension festive de soufi-groovy, la pièce est sertie par une atmosphère de cordes chatoyantes perlées en échos, dont nous innerve le guitariste prodige Jacques Mantica venu du Jazz et de la World Music. Soutenue par des teintes de basse, serpentant à pas feutrés, voici une matrice sonore enveloppante. On est là aux sources du « tarab », une émotion musicale renvoyant à une mélopée instrumentale expressive favorisant une poésie évocatrice. Mais aussi une palette de sentiments gravitant d’une grande intériorité à une exaltation parfois violente, reflet de la vie des rues populaires du Caire. D’où ce lointain souvenir du mode mélodique traditionnel en quart de ton appelé maqâm et soulignant la liaison entre deux mouvements.

Ce grand bain de transe, Tarab le prend avec un sérieux d’adolescent, qui l’autorise à recueillir pleinement, et avec une innocence désarmante, les états qu’il cherche à rendre simultanément – extase et mélancolie, concentration et lâcher prise. La chorégraphie suit en cela une direction toute musicale, réglée sur la ventilation de nappes de cordes profondes qui finissent par faire chambre d’échos à la solitude d’un corps d’algue ondoyant doucement au gré de sa sinuosité languide. Ce moment d’heure bleue confirme le goût de Tarab pour l’entre-deux. Et résonne comme une promesse tenue pour les sens en éveil, qui a la secrète saveur d’un rendez-vous encourageant pour la suite.

Bertrand Tappolet

Chorégraphie, Concept
Laurence Yadi et Nicolas Cantillon

Interprétation
Luc Bénard, Rosanne Briens, Nicolas Cantillon, Ryan Djojokarso, Karima El Amrani, Victoria Hoyland, Aline Lopes, Margaux Monetti, Melissa Ugolini, Laurence Yadi

Collaborations artistiques
Sir Richard Bishop, Nicolas Field, Graziella Jouan

Mixage , Enregistrement , Composition musicale
Jacques Mantica

Création lumière
Patrick Riou

Régie technique
Arnaud Viala

Réalisateur, captation vidéo
Donkeyshot Filmproduction: Ahmed Abdel Mohsen et Sandra Gisy, pour la réalisation d'un documentaire sur la création du spectacle

Costumes
Olga Kondrachina

Communication, Graphisme
Yona Lee | Design studio et Régis Golay | Federal

Production
Compagnie 7273

Coproductions
Un projet de coopération entre l'Association pour la Danse Contemporaine à Genève, l'Arsenic à Lausanne, la Gessnerallee à Zürich, Südpol à Lucerne et dans le cadre du Fonds des programmateurs | Reso - Réseau Danse Suisse.

Soutiens 
La Compagnie 7273 bénéficie d'une convention de soutien conjoint pour la période 2012-2014 de la Ville de Genève, la République et le Canton de Genève et Pro Helvetia-Fondation suisse pour la culture. La Compagnie 7273 est également soutenue par la Loterie Romande, la Göhner Stiftung, la Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung, Corymbo, la Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung et la Fondation Nestlé pour l'Art pour la recherche sur le multi styles FuittFuitt.

Aide à la tournée
La Compagnie 7273 a bénéficié d'une aide de la Corodis et du Pour-cent culturel Migros pour la tournée 2013-2014. En 2014-2015, elle bénéficie d'une aide à la tournée de la Corodis et de la Loterie Romande.

Studios de répétition, Résidences de création
La Compagnie 7273 a bénéficié d'une résidence de recherche au Caire avec Pro Helvetia et une mise à disposition des studios de l'ADC - Association pour la danse contemporaine et du CND - Centre National de la Danse, France

Remerciements
La Compagnie 7273 remercie Amir Rasty et filles, Muriel Décaillet, Patrick Eberhardt, Ahmed El Attar-studio Emad Eddin au Caire, Ahmed El Maghrabi du Makan au Caire, Clemence Egron-Reverseau, Sébastien Favez, Filippo Filliger, Myriam Kridi, Maysoon Mahfoudh de Pro Helvetia au Caire, Françoise Mamie, Karima Mansour de l’Opéra du Caire, Mohamed Marco, Nahla Mattar du Musée Oum Kalsoum au Caire, Hebba Shérif de Pro Hevetia au Caire, Nicole Simon-Vermot, Dorothée Thébert, Sandra Vinciguerra, le Service Cantonal de la Culture de Genève pour la résidence d’accueil à Genthod, les studios d’hébergement aux Halles de l’Île du Département de la Culture et du sport de la Ville de Genève