Today

Solo | Creation 2017 | Duration 35’

For the first time since the creation of Compagnie 7273, the dancer and choreographer Laurence Yadi evolves alone on stage. With her personal history and her magnetic presence, she invites us to join her in a world which will retranscribe feelings kept secret.

For this new creation, the choreographers wish to bring into existence two extremely interlinked dimensions of the body: the dimension of the body-object and that of bodysubject.

To dance is to make the body a medium of communication; is to choose it as a human and vibrant matter, a body simultaneously psychologic and organic. Each movement plays its role of live and pulsing where tensions and shades circulate, turning the body into a true melodic chanting. The body is a symbolic force that testifies. It becomes a “political body” and a “geo-artistic” body.

With this creation, Laurence Yadi and Nicolas Cantillon keep digging deep into a process they have been developing since ten years now: betting on a continuous movement fuelled by a desire to flirt with infinity and adjust, sculpt the body of the performer in a trance that reveals both its intimacy and universality.

For almost twenty years, the choreographers have been travelling the world in a quest to find the essential movement; one which tells a story, transforms itself through the outside eye and transcends reality. Never trying to import the western body technique to a new place, they make new contemporary forms of the traditional movement appear. It is mainly in the Middle East that Laurence and Nicolas drew fundamentals of their dance: the Multi styles FuittFuitt.

This dance is a battle in its own way: a sort of claim for a liquid body that is able to express some kind of critical awareness. The only guideline for the performer is to respect the instructions of the choreographers: to bend and never break.

Choreography, Concept
Laurence Yadi et Nicolas Cantillon

Cast
Laurence Yadi

Music
Maurice Louca

Light design
Ursula Degen

Technical manager
Arnaud Viala ou David Kretonic

Video capture
Nicolas Veuthey

Sound diffusion
Thierry Simonot

 

Production
Compagnie 7273

Coproductions
La Bâtie - Festival de Genève, La Marmite

Studios for rehearsals
Studio de l’ADC, L’association de danse contemporaine à Genève

 

 

Financial support
Compagnie 7273 benefits from a joint support from the City of Geneva, the Republic and Canton of Geneva and Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council. The creation of TODAY is supported by Arab Bank (Switzerland) Ltd.

Today

Solo | Création 2017 | Durée 35’

Pour la première fois depuis la création de la Compagnie 7273, la danseuse et chorégraphe Laurence Yadi évolue seule sur scène. Chargée de son histoire personnelle et de sa présence magnétique, elle nous invite à la rejoindre dans un monde qui retranscrit une palette d’émotions gardées secrètes.

Avec cette création, les chorégraphes ont le désir de faire exister deux dimensions du corps extrêmement imbriquées: la dimension du corps-objet et celle de corps-sujet.

Danser, c’est faire du corps un medium de communication ; c’est le choisir comme matière humaine et vivante, un corps à la fois psychique et organique. Chaque mouvement joue son rôle de lieux de vie et de pulsion où circulent les tensions et les nuances, faisant du corps un véritable chant mélodique. Le corps constitue une force symbolique qui fait témoignage. Il devient un «corps politique» et un corps «géo artistique».

Avec TODAY, Laurence Yadi et Nicolas Cantillon creusent la démarche développée depuis leurs débuts: faire le pari d’un mouvement continu, nourri par l’envie de flirter avec l’infini et ajuster, puis sculpter le corps dans une transe qui en révèle l’intimité autant que son universalité.

Voilà près de vingt ans que les chorégraphes parcourent le monde en quête du mouvement essentiel ; celui qui raconte, celui qui se transforme par le regard extérieur et transcende la réalité. Loin d’importer les techniques corporelles occidentales ailleurs, ils font émerger des formes nouvelles et contemporaines à partir du mouvement traditionnel.

C’est principalement au Moyen-Orient que Laurence et Nicolas ont puisé les fondements de leur danse, le Multi styles Fuittfuitt.

A sa manière, leur danse est une lutte ; une forme de revendication pour un corps fluide, capable d’exprimer un sens critique. La seule ligne de conduite pour les chorégraphes est de plier sans ne jamais rompre.

Chorégraphie, Concept
Laurence Yadi et Nicolas Cantillon

Interprétation
Laurence Yadi

Composition musicale

Maurice Louca

Création lumière
Ursula Degen

Régie technique
Arnaud Viala ou David Kretonic

Captation vidéo
Nicolas Veuthey

Diffusion sonore
Thierry Simonot

 

Production
Compagnie 7273

Coproductions
La Bâtie - Festival de Genève, La Marmite

Résidences de création
Studio de l’ADC, L’association de danse contemporaine à Genève

 

 

Soutiens à la création
La Compagnie 7273 bénéficie d'une convention de soutien conjoint de la Ville de Genève, la République et le Canton de Genève et Pro Helvetia-Fondation suisse pour la culture. TODAY a bénéficié du soutien de Arab Bank (Switzerland) Ltd.

Agenda